Named in honor of Curtis Hankamer and William Fleming of Round Rock, the Hankamer-Fleming Chapel has signified new beginnings for children and families in our community. The chapel was built in 1955 and is an enduring landmark amidst the growing Round Rock population. It has served as an outreach tool for the community, provided comfort to thousands of children who have lived at TBCH, and witnessed hundreds of newlyweds begin their lives together in marriage.
Built five years after TBCH opened, the chapel began as a place of worship for children in residence at TBCH. Today it is still a place of worship and through the years has helped launch multiple churches. The 5 stained-glass windows on the east side of the chapel depict a different child in the Bible who was raised by someone other than his parents, including Daniel, Moses, Joseph, Samuel, and David. The 5 west windows represent important milestones in Jesus’ life. A large back window shows Jesus welcoming the little children into his open arms. Each window is a reminder that God loves children and welcomes anyone with pain and suffering.
The chapel is also a standing representation of community partnership. When the need for the structure first arose, local residents Curtis Hankamer and William Fleming provided the money to build it. Nearly 20 years after the chapel was built, Diane and Stanley Williams decided to purchase bells for the chapel in remembrance of their 16-year-old daughter, who was killed in a traffic accident.
The Hankamer-Fleming Chapel is at the heart of the TBCH campus, just as Christ is at the heart of our ministries. It is more than a building. It is a reminder to everyone of who we are and what we stand for.